Love others….Simple, Not Easy

“Owe nothing to anyone – except for your obligation to love one another. If you love your neighbor, you will fulfill the requirements of God’s law.” Romans 13:8   v. 10 “Love does no wrong to others, so love fulfills the requirements of God’s law.” (NLT)

If I could just do this one thing, it seems so simple. Do this one thing and I have fulfilled all the law. Just love others. Love others as myself. It is simple but it is not easy. This is talking about sacrificial love – for everyone. I am not capable of that kind of love. In myself, I do not have the power to love others unselfishly. Only in the power of the Holy Spirit, only as I yield to Jesus, can I hope to truly love others.

Jesus, the only way this can happen in my life is if you love others through me. Please, fill me, take my heart, soul, mind and strength and enable me to love others as you have loved me. I lean on you Lord; apart from you I am helpless in my selfishness. I trust you today to help me to love others in your strength. Please help me remember your word and to walk with you step by step. Please love through me today.

1 Comment

Filed under Devotional, Faith, love

One response to “Love others….Simple, Not Easy

  1. Betsy

    Thank you for your words Susan. I need to love people right where they are, not where I think they should be in order to ‘deserve’ my love. God loves me even though I am a wretched sinner, I need to do the same! Hope you are doing well…thank you for your continued work for Him.
    God Bless you and love, Betsy

    Like

Leave a Reply

