God’s Great Love (Jeremiah 30-32)

God may be allowing his people to be besieged and to be on the verge of going into captivity but He loves them so much. In fact it is because He loves them that He cannot let them continue as they are – worshipping false idols. Even as they are being taken captive He lays out His plans to rescue them and bring them back. Never for a minute were they outside of His care. He says in 32:27, “I am the LORD, the God of all mankind. Is anything too hard for me?”  Yes, they will go into captivity and their land will be destroyed but, v. 37-41 “…I will bring them back to this place and let them live in safety. They will be my people, and I will be their God. I will give them singleness of heart and action, so that they will always fear me for their own good and the good of their children after them. I will make an everlasting covenant with them: I will never stop doing good to them, and I will inspire them to fear me, so that they will never turn away from me. I will rejoice in doing them good and will assuredly plant them in this land with all my heart and soul.”

How this shows that God’s purposes for His people are for good and not evil. They might only see the moment – the captivity but He sees the future, that if left the way they are, their children will never know Him because they will be steeped in idol worship. If He had not allowed them to be taken captive and to be punished, their faith and heritage would have been destroyed. He rescued them from their own sinful ways. He loved them too much to leave them in their sin.

How God loves me! More than I can fathom. I pray that He will give me singleness of heart and action so that I will always fear Him

Father, I make this my prayer: Please give me singleness of heart and action so that I will always fear you for my own good and for the good of our son and any children he may have. Thank you that you love me with an everlasting love! Please let your love show through me. Help me to never turn away from you. In the name of my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ I pray.

1 Comment

Filed under God, Jeremiah, love, suffering

One response to “God’s Great Love (Jeremiah 30-32)

  1. Pingback: Resources for Jeremiah 37:15 - 18

Leave a Reply

