Who Does God Esteem? (Isaiah study)

Isaiah 65-66

This is the one I esteem: he who is humble and contrite in spirit, and trembles at my word.” 66:2b

“For when I called, no one answered, when I spoke, no one listened. They did evil in my sight and chose what displeases me.” 66:4b

The one God esteems (NIV) The man to whom I look and have regard (AMP) On this one will I look (NKJV) But to this one I will look (NASB) Who does God esteem and who does He look to: the one who is humble and contrite (feeling or showing sorrow and remorse for a sin or shortcoming) (feeling or expressing remorse) (repentant – penitent – remorseful – regretful) What would the opposite be? Filled with pride, arrogance, unrepentant, not sorry for ones acts, not regretting sin, no remorse.  He also esteems the one who trembles at His word. To tremble at His word is to take it seriously, to know that the LORD God Almighty has spoken and it will come to pass. To tremble at His word is to know He has the power over life and death. We are nothing before Him. We are at His mercy and dependent on His grace. We have no power. I have no power over anything or anyone. I am at His mercy. I am dust before Him. Oh, wretched creature, that I would presume on His grace or indulge my sinful nature. Have mercy on me Oh, LORD!

Jesus, I confess my sin to you. I have been filled with selfishness, pride, self-seeking. I have put myself before others; I have deliberately chosen to put myself first. I have been jealous, and sometimes deceitful. Have mercy oh, LORD, on me a sinner. Saved by your grace but so prone to wander. I am so often rude and arrogant to others. Help me Dear LORD! Help me Jesus! Wash me and I will be clean, restore my soul, wash away the ugliness. Please help me to walk in repentance before you and to hear you when you speak. Help me to always tremble at your word. I am nothing without you. I receive your love even though I do not deserve it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Isaiah, personal, repentance, sin

Leave a Reply

