Letting Go (Isaiah study)

Isaiah 45-46

What an awesome God we have! He is with us from the point of conception to the end of our lives. “Listen….you whom I have upheld since you were conceived, and have carried since your birth. Even to your old age and gray hairs I am he, I am he who will sustain you. I have made you and I will carry you; I will sustain you and I will rescue you.” 46:3-4 He is all-knowing and all-powerful. ”I make known the end from the beginning, from ancient times, what is still to come. I say: My purpose will stand and I will do all that I please…..What I have said, that will I bring about; what I have planned, that will I do.” 46:10-11 He is sovereign! So, how can we question Him?  “This is what the LORD says – the Holy One of Israel, and its Maker: Concerning things to come, do you question me about my children, or give me orders about the work of my hands? It is I who made the earth and created mankind upon it. My own hands stretched out the heavens; I marshaled their starry hosts.” 45:11-12 He is creator, sustainer, redeemer and sovereign LORD.

God is speaking to Israel here. He created the nation, he created them as individuals. He set a plan from the beginning that he would choose them as his people and through their line he would send Jesus to save the world. His plan was set and could not be thwarted. He would discipline the nation, bring in other nations to discipline but he would rescue them and his plan would not fail. We as Christians are grafted into His family. The promises to Israel are also our promises. God has known each of us from birth and will never leave us. Even to our last day, He sustains us. He has a purpose for each and His purpose will stand. I cannot give him orders about my life or the lives of others (my son). He made the earth! He made every star! Yes, I can pray and ask Him for what I desire but I cannot question how He answers. He will answer in His own way and in His own time. Because He is fulfilling His purpose for the whole universe, not just for my little world. I can ask Him but I cannot demand from Him. I cannot command Him to work the way I want. I can only pour out my heart and then trust my heart to His almighty wisdom, power and grace.

Father, I trust You, my Creator, my Redeemer, my LORD, my Lord and Savior. You know what I want for our son. I ask you that you will guide his heart to you. That he will trust you with all of his heart, soul, mind and strength. I ask that you would protect him from the evil plans of the enemy. Please guide him to the purpose you created him for. We give him to you LORD, Creator of all things. I trust you to fulfill your purpose in his life and as you promised, to answer our prayers for him. Now, Lord, please help me to let go. To let go of my own striving, worry and fear. I release him to you. I know it is a daily journey. I pray Father that whenever I start to take this back, you will help me let go again. I trust him to your Sovereign care. Thank you dear Father! Thank you for taking care of our son and leading him in your time and for your purpose. In the name of our Lord Jesus I pray.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, family, Isaiah, my son, relationships

Leave a Reply

