Journal entry for March 12, 2011

March 12, 2011

 John 3 Psalm 40 

John 3:17 “For God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world,” Because the world was already condemned. Before Jesus came, we were doomed, sinful, and unable to save ourselves. “but that the world through Him might be saved.” He came to rescue us from condemnation!  V.20 Many will not come to him because they love the darkness because their deeds are evil. They do not want to come to the light lest their deeds be exposed. V. 19-20 “For everyone practicing evil hates the light”

 Why do people hate the preaching of the Gospel? Why do they hate the teaching that Jesus is the only way? Because of their evil deeds, their selfishness, they do not want the light to reveal who they really are. When the light of Jesus shines into the darkness either people are drawn to the light as a way out or they scurry to the darkness to hide.

 Jesus, I want your light in my life. I don’t want to try to hide anything. I want your pure, cleansing light to purify me and make me real. I praise You for allowing me to know You. You are the only way. Please let Your light shine throughout the earth to reveal darkness and bring people to salvation.

 How can I let the light of Jesus shine through me today?

 Psalm 40:10 “I have not hidden Your righteousness within my heart; I have declared Your faithfulness and Your salvation; I have not concealed Your loving-kindness and Your truth from the great assembly.”

 David did not keep his faith in God a secret. He openly declared his belief in God’s faithfulness and salvation. He did not conceal the truth.

 Father, please forgive me for so often hiding Your light in my life. Please grant me the boldness to openly proclaim Your truth. Help me to tell others how You have shown Your loving-kindness to me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, Journal, truth

Leave a Reply

