Free To Choose

Oh, LORD God,

Everything is in Your hands.

From the tiniest microorganism

to the smallest star in the farthest galaxy.

It is all Yours.

You made it all.

You spoke it into existence.

You hold it together.

Everything is interconnected

and points to Your glory.

There are so many miracles all around us

we don’t even see them anymore.

The human soul,

thought,

memory,

hope,

dreams,

all from You.

Every ability I have is from You.

Every good gift in my life is from You.

What am I beside You?

I am a speck of dust.

Powerless before You.

Yet You choose to give me freedom.

Freedom to believe or doubt.

Freedom to follow You or turn away.

Freedom to trust You or to depend on self.

Freedom to build or destroy.

I can choose death or life.

But I have no power to change the

consequences of my choices.

I will reap what I sow.

God Almighty,

please help me.

Help me to choose life everyday.

I know my eternity is secure

in the hands of Jesus who died for me.

Help me in my everyday walk

to choose You,

to choose life,

to sow

love, joy, peace,

kindness, goodness,

gentleness, faithfulness

and self-control.

I can’t do it without You.

I yield to You

my LORD.

 

S. Aken 

1 Comment

Filed under Faith, God, personal

One response to “Free To Choose

  1. Betsy

    Dear Susan,
    Congrats on your 25th Anniversary! Marriage is everything you said…
    Your writing is such a blessing to me:)
    In His Love,
    Betsy

    Like

Leave a Reply

