Substitute teaching/Parenting

     I really like being a sub in spite of the challenges (such as having to teach a lesson cold-or having to teach math -yikes!) The past 3 days I have been in 5th grade. Last week I was in 2nd grade, special ed, media center and high school English! I like the variety. Although starting next month I will do a long-term job in an elementary media center. That is good though since I will be back to my roots. (I was a school librarian for 17 years)

     As a parent, sometimes I feel like I am really blowing it. But I remember how God gave us our son with such a miracle (an adoption story) and you know – God always finishes what He starts! He won’t leave either of us unfinished. He will keep polishing as long as we are on earth but I am so glad He is in charge!

2 Comments

Filed under Faith, my son, personal, Work

2 responses to “Substitute teaching/Parenting

  1. Vicki Moser

    Just think how many lives you touch through this kind of teachng, rather than a set amount teaching in the same place all the time. I am happy that you are enjoying it and that it stretches you some too. All parents think they have failed, many times over the years. Just remember, GOd looks in our hearts, not just our heads.

    Like

  2. I wish I had your attitude about substitute teaching. I find it extremely hard sometimes to remember that there is goodness in all of us. Sometimes, I think that these kids are just wolves in sheep’s clothing. But the good times keep me going and I try to take a day off every now and then to regain my sanity. My favorite so far was the elementary school level. At the end of the day, a little girl said it was cool to have me there. I was so touched and it made my entire day. Now, if high school and middle school students would behave better, the world would be a better place.

    Like

Leave a Reply

